Apostolos Andreas stands in the centre of the village, with commanding views of the village and east over the valley towards Limassol.
The gothic building is built of stone quarried from the Anogyra and Prasteio area, and transported by donkeys to Pissouri. Construction began around 1835 on the site of the old church and cemetery, and was completed in 1883. Local artisans began working on the wooden divider that serves as an icon stand in 1880, and it and the other various wood carving were completed in 1890. The wood carvings are renowned, and are truly a sight to behold. The property was used as a cemetery until 1912, and was then covered over and serves as the courtyard for the church.
It is beautiful church with a unique history.
Regular services are held on Saturday evenings, Sundays, Mondays, and Tuesdays, as well as special days such as name-days.
Article and some photos by David Meaden-Kendrick.